IP rebuilt lost power!

jimmyB

Reaction score
Hi guys,new here.I just purchased a 94f350 7.3 idi from my brother.When he first got the truck it was crazy fast.It would run with my 01 chipped ps.Well the IP went bad and was filling the motor with fuel so he had it rebuilt. So when he got it back it was a dog! Also this truck has a banks siewinder kit as well as the transcommand. So i bought it and and started doing a little research and maybe the mechanic didnt set the fuel and timing right.But it does run good but no power.I turned the fuel up 2 flats and it did nothing(no smoke).Any opinions or knowledge of this?

freebird01

Post Turtle!
Reaction score
check the timing... i would have it set with a meter to 9.5deg....mine is closer to 10.5 and its too much

jimmyB

Reaction score
sorry im new to these,what do i test with the meter? I thought there was timing marks under that plate on the front of the IP gear.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum about the idi engines...
Those timing marks on the gear cover and injection pump really mean nothing. We have two accepted ways to time our engines. Pulse or luminosity timing. The pulse is the type of timing most here will use. You need a meter that has a magnetic probe and a injector line clampon probe. The Kent Moor J33300 meters work well doing both types of timing. They are still sold and backed up by kent moore. I have a rental program for these meters too. Several members have benifited from using my meters. Anytime you replace injectors the timing should be at least checked... As your injection pump wears it will loose timing too. Do a search here for some of my viedos about timing and injection pump install or removel. They are very easy to watch and understand.

johneich

John, 1983 F250
Reaction score
Here is a pic of you timing marks, at least from my 1983, your milage may vary.

You will need to buy, rent, steal, borrow or go to someone that has timing gear.