Throttle Cable Woes

Max Mini

Reaction score
Hello! This is my first time posting here though I often search your forums for the answers to my questions.

My 1991 E-350 cutaway short school bus has a 7.3L IDI.

I sent the bus to the shop to diagnose a problem that turned out to be the cam sensor going bad, but during the test drive, the throttle cable broke. I actually ended up getting the cable and bringing it to them as there was a 3 day delay from their vendor. I searched high and low for an OEM cable as I've heard the after market ones don't fit right and/or stretch, but there were none to be had - it's a discontinued part. So we went with one made by pioneer.

Got the bus back today, and the pedal is like mush. Before all this, it was a rocket ship, now, my foot is literally on the floor at 55 mph. It doesn't seem like the cable is the right length. Yet when I look for the part, no matter who makes it, it lists the same length, and all sources list this as the appropriate one for my vehicle.

I found a thread on here from a few years ago warning not to use an after market cable for this exact reason. However, back then, there may have been a few OEM's kicking around. Now there's nothing, or at least nothing I've been able to find. The cable does not have any kind of built-in adjustment that can be made. Is there any way to jerry rig this, or has anyone successfully navigated this issue in some other way? I will attempt to find one at the junkyard, but the problem is, I'm not at a level where I could install it myself, so I'd have to pay the shop to do it all over again. I could maybe insist they replace it, but, ever in a hurry, I bought that part myself.

Thewespaul

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score