Parts becoming obsolete

jj339629

Reaction score
I'm new to the IDI world and have found that parts are becoming obsolete. For example, I have the belt tensioner with the support shock (1 of the 3 variations ford created for belt tensioners on the IDI). Ford no long makes these parts as they are "obsolete according to two dealerships and the aftermarket stuff from Autozone/Napa/Oriellys/Advanced Auto don't fit. What do you guys do in this situation?

Jesus Freak

Full Access Member
Reaction score
just get a parts bronco or find people parting things out, maybe pick n pull or CL
...... where would I be without my "parts bronco". You see, it's dual purpose.....I store stuff in it AND I pull stuff off of it.
I'm actually committed to getting a few more 80-86 trucks just to have. Because if an insurance company tried to "total" my truck I might have a "come apart".

Nero

HD Diesel nut
Reaction score
Why broncos in particular? Aren't they just a shorter wheel base f150 and no diesel?

Jesus Freak

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Why broncos in particular? Aren't they just a shorter wheel base f150 and no diesel?
They look really cool, even on blocks. When other ford guys see them you can say things like, "yeeaaah, I'm gonna fix it all up and do this and that......" And watch them get the palpitations. And storage, my parts bronco looks way better than a long bed with a camper.

Attachments

• IMG_20221002_171812.jpg
    IMG_20221002_171812.jpg
    623.3 KB · Views: 19

Jesus Freak

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My wife would leave me if I had parts vehicles again.
I used to have an 87, 88, 88, and 89 in my back yard. All diesels.

I now have grass for the dog to poop in.