idi performance

onetonride

onetonride
Reaction score
hey i am new to site.... hello everyone. i have a 1992 crew cab longbed idi with only 95000 miles on it. i am looking to do some upgrading on the motor. i have intentions on buying an isspro pyrometer and turning the fuel pump up. and i really want to put a turbo kit on it? anyone selling a kit for a reasonable price? is there anything else i can do to make more power and torque? thanks for taking the time to read my post :hail

FordGuy100

Reaction score
Another Oregonian ;Sweet. Seems like us Oregonians are coming out of the woodwork this past year or so LOL.

Yes the biggest thing you can do to an IDI is buy a turbo. The new ones are nice to have, because you know they come with everything and they should last for a long time, but they are quite spendy. I hear banks actually discontinued there turbo lineup for the IDI, and I also hear some people say that ATS is no longer making/selling kits, but I think they still are. A used kit will run you around $1000+- a couple hundred depending on condition. I'm sure someone on here has one for sale. You can also look on ebay for a kit, along with craigslist.

And you have the right idea, before you do any mods, put a pyro on. If you cant get a turbo, you can always rig up an intake, theres different styles you could choose to use, and then put on a freer flowing exhaust. This will help out alot, but definatly not as much as a turbo.

Ottoparts

Whoa, that was fun!
Reaction score
Before finding my turbo set up, I had called banks and emailed Hypermax (just last week). You can still purchase new from both of them. For how much longer, I do not know. But Banks wants $3300 for their system and I did not get a dollar amount from Hypermax. Dean here in Cornelius has a couple of turbo set ups. He might be interested in selling on of them. You would have to check with him.

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score