1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

5.0 to 7.3 Project

Discussion in '6.9L IH & 7.3L IDI Diesels' started by gregmiller185, Mar 21, 2020.

  1. gregmiller185

    gregmiller185 Registered User

    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Hey new to the forum, hoping to use this to ask a few questions and share some pics of my project.

    So I started with a 87 f250 5.0 with a 4 speed. And recently picked up a 92 7.3 with a banks sidewinder, E4OD and a trashed body. Both trucks 4x4.

    I originally intended on swapping the motor/trans/tcase and axles to my 87 but then decided to just swap the 87 body and lift over to the 92 chassis. I am by no means building a show truck whatsoever, just something I can use and enjoy.

    Here’s where I’m at.. I plan to use a baumann quick 4 to run the tranny but they are currently updating the displays or something? and looking at a couple weeks for that plus this virus is causing delays as well and not to mention the Canadian dollar has plummeted since I first talked with them. I’d be looking at 1500 Canadian by the time it’s to my door.

    So I’m thinking of putting that on hold and wiring in the factory controller if possible. The harness i have is pretty chopped up but all the plug ends are there and I’ve found the wiring diagram for the E4OD which I will try to post.

    What I need to know is if this is possible without using the 92 dash? And if so are there any circuits I do not need? I will pretty much be making my own harness.

    Looking like I may have some time to play with this Or should I just fork out the cash and wait for the baumann?

    E4OD wiring diagram: (hopefully that works)
    http://askatech.com/AskATechLive/forums/ResourceHandler.ashx?a=7489
     
  2. gregmiller185

    gregmiller185 Registered User

    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Here’s how I got the truck. 5BFB4197-1648-4A74-9180-6AEEEEECF0A4.jpeg
    A month later. 96BA264C-1390-4AAF-9901-C1E507152E55.jpeg The 92.
    516C5741-28B9-4407-8312-462B5215CA67.jpeg
    The body is currently on, suspension swapped, diesel core support, fuel tanks work, etc. etc. just haven’t got pics of it yet.
     
    Exhumis likes this.
  3. franklin2

    franklin2 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    3,973
    Likes Received:
    536
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Va
    Does the 92 have a speedometer cable? I forget when they went to a electronic speedometer, but you are getting close to that year. If it doesn't and you want to use the 87 dash and wiring, you may have to swap in the 87 transfer case to get a speedo cable hook-up spot.

    I think the factory controller, and probably the baumann also, need a speed sensor to detect road speed, and they also may use something from the engine to detect engine rpm. Other than that, both controllers are pretty much self contained correct?

    If you use a manual button for the glowplugs, and find a hot key-on wire to run the engine, you should be able to use the 87 wiring.
     
  4. chillman88

    chillman88 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,387
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Location:
    Central NY
    What tires are on that 87? They look pretty gnarly!
     
  5. chillman88

    chillman88 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,387
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Location:
    Central NY
    I believe all the years use Tach for RPM signal and the signal from the rear axle ABS tone ring for road speed calculations. I may be wrong but I was under the impression the TCM gets those signals regardless of the style of speedometer?

    This is from information gleaned from the internet and definitely subject to correction!
     
  6. gregmiller185

    gregmiller185 Registered User

    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    No this one does not have a cable. I believe it’s the first year they switched. It does have the speed sensor in the rear diff which is all the baumann controller needs and would obviously be required for the factory computer too but not sure if the PSOM (I believe it’s called) is also needed?

    I’m okay running without a speedometer as it was not at all accurate with my tires anyway. Might just throw some sort of digital GPS thing from eBay in it for now.

    I have been able to use most of the 87 harnesses. Just had to modify it for the electronic fuel selector valve and alternator/charging system. I also used the 92 under hood fuse box to power the glow plugs/fss.
     
  7. chillman88

    chillman88 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,387
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Location:
    Central NY
    Well I have no clue but since it wasn't even on the pre 92 trucks and the transmission was the same until 94-95 I would imagine you could use a TCM from an 87-91 with the E4OD.
     
  8. gregmiller185

    gregmiller185 Registered User

    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    They are 38” Michelin XML’s, had them laying around and was the main reason I bought the truck. Just wanted something to throw them on but has since snowballed into an entire drivetrain/chassis swap haha
     
    chillman88 likes this.
  9. chillman88

    chillman88 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,387
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Location:
    Central NY
    Funny how quickly they snowball huh LOL
     
  10. gregmiller185

    gregmiller185 Registered User

    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    That’s kinda what I’m hoping.. but would be awfully sad to make a harness just to find out I need the 92 dash module.
     
    chillman88 likes this.
  11. chillman88

    chillman88 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,387
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Location:
    Central NY
    Yeah. That said, I think @ifrythings is the one who swapped a 92+ speedometer into the 87-91 cluster. Didn't look horribly difficult either.
     
  12. gregmiller185

    gregmiller185 Registered User

    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Ya no kidding! All well.. gives me something I enjoy doing during these times.

    Never thought of using the pre 92 TCM. I wonder if the entire harness would plug right into the round 50? pin connector keeping me from having to make my own harness. Hmmm

    I’m pretty limited as far as wrecking yards go here. But I’ll maybe call around, hopefully get lucky
     
  13. u2slow

    u2slow Plan B

    Posts:
    778
    Likes Received:
    191
    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Location:
    PNW
    With those big tires, I'd just run the 4spd... or swap to a ZF5 setup (very cheap these days, not like NV4500s).
     
  14. aggiediesel01

    aggiediesel01 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    If you have all the '92 wiring, underhood and underdash, it should pretty much lay in place in the '87 body and pretty much all the controls and functions are the same. You'll have to pull the dashes on both to swap the harnesses but the '92 harness should lay behind the '87 dash with minimal effort. Since your e4od is early it may have a provision already on the tailshaft to install the speedo gear/cable that was used with the '91 and earlier style trucks. That would be less work than trying to splice the two years and different fuel types together.
     
  15. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    5,086
    Likes Received:
    3,302
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    I've been doing this in my 1985 for almost 6 years now. The only issue is the lack of an odometer. Otherwise, it's all I need.
     

Share This Page