1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Front cover removal

Discussion in '6.9L IH & 7.3L IDI Diesels' started by Jonathanbwata, Feb 3, 2019.

  1. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    1,234
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    You could do this and would probably have to make a bracket that mounts by a couple of oil pan bolts to mount the pick up. Tiny Tach makes another example which, although more expensive, would be the way I'm going to go some day. The signal comes from the pulses in the fuel lines themselves. Check out DTL-6 and DTL-1/4 for the descriptions.
     
  2. Jonathanbwata

    Jonathanbwata Registered User

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Location:
    Weed, CA
    Well the truck shifts... there's just no overdrive...and the light blinks constantly when driving...truck will only stay around 45 55 before I here the rev get really high
    So me not having a tach the OD won't work.... the wiring is not all oem as well
    So is there a way to keep od engaged or make it work with out that tach lol I feel like I ask some dumb questions but I'm new to engines lol it was my first motor swap... and this is my main issue... I have water and oil leak and tranny cooling line leak but there easy fixes... it fires off instantly in the mornings now and we got 15 20 degree weather here the old motor lost compression and piston rings were gone prices of rings In the pan lol...
     
  3. snicklas

    snicklas 6.0 and Loving It!! Staff Member

    Age:
    44
    Posts:
    5,155
    Likes Received:
    1,042
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Greenfield, Indiana
    The electronic transmissions need a tach signal. Even the aftermarket controller like @david85 is using requires a tach signal. I don’t think you have anyway around that.

    I think at a minimum, to run the transmission, you have to know engine speed (tachometer), vehicle speed (VSS), throttle position (FIPL), and selected gear (MPLS, on the transmission)
     
  4. Thewespaul

    Thewespaul Supporting Vendor Supporting Member

    Posts:
    6,138
    Likes Received:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Location:
    Bulverde, Texas
    As well as brake light signal and map sensor reading. You will burn up the trans running it without those.
     
  5. david85

    david85 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    4,010
    Likes Received:
    274
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Location:
    Campbell River, B.C.
    Not sure where you heard that, but mine does not use a tach signal. The OptiShift successor to my older transmission controller has that as an option which is used for added feature, but even that can run without it.
     
    Kevo1288 and snicklas like this.
  6. Jonathanbwata

    Jonathanbwata Registered User

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Location:
    Weed, CA
    Well today I noticed a minor oil leak from passenger head so irritating lol one problem after the other... I must of put hole in. Radiator too Cuz it leaks lol well I won't be worrying much about the timing gear right now after I do need head gaskets and hope to get studs... since I'll have everything pulled apart I thought about making headers and turbo mount setup as well lol got lot on my plate but it will keep me entertained for a while can I use mild steel for headers I don't got stainless steel around rn... keep yall updated on this havoc chaos bull shit lol btw mounting turbo under bed of truck hope to get a hx 35 or 40 or something like that...
     
  7. riphip

    riphip Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    488
    Likes Received:
    94
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Location:
    Romans: 12-21 Memphis, TN.
    Oil leak from passenger head may be valley pan drain or just valve cover gasket. Powerstroke turbo can be used if mounting on frame. It has been done.
     
  8. Macrobb

    Macrobb Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    854
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Location:
    North Idaho
    Exactly. Oil leaks are not going to be head gaskets - there's no oil pressure going through the gasket(just drain holes). You'd be leaking coolant well before you ever weep oil.

    Valve covers are a very common leak spot. Need to be replaced every dozen or so years.
     
  9. DrCharles

    DrCharles Full Access Member

    Posts:
    768
    Likes Received:
    379
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Location:
    West Plains, MO
    I just replace the gaskets, myself :sly

    But I agree, they can leak oil from very hard-to-see places, which runs down along the head and drips in unpredictable locations too. I had a leak from the front of my passenger-side cover that drove me nuts... finally I discovered that some crud in the lower right front hole was bottoming out the bolt before it applied any force to the cover! I chased all the holes and no leak since :)
     
    The_Josh_Bear likes this.
  10. Jonathanbwata

    Jonathanbwata Registered User

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Location:
    Weed, CA
    Yup it's just valve covers thank goodness lol...I used bar leak and it actually worked on my radiator leak... well imma start tomorrow morning on this project... well I'll line up tdc Mark on the harmonic balancer amd take out ip and the try to remove cover without moving gear.. since I'm using a 7.3 gear housing cover and injector pump can I use the timing gear from the 7.3 as well.. just to make sure the tach will pick up the right readings.....and if I take gear out and notice the timing Mark to be 180 out ...can I turn crank by hand one full Revolution to set up cam gear Mark to the top...
     
  11. Jonathanbwata

    Jonathanbwata Registered User

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Location:
    Weed, CA
    Actually I'll just make just dowel is at 4 o'clock position too
     
  12. bbjordan

    bbjordan Snow Monkey

    Posts:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    187
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta
    Yes. ;Sweet
     
  13. Jonathanbwata

    Jonathanbwata Registered User

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Location:
    Weed, CA
    Just need to know if I can use 7.3 injector pump timing gear
     
  14. Jonathanbwata

    Jonathanbwata Registered User

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Location:
    Weed, CA
    ....I took it for a run and it's alot clatterly at idle but if you rev her up she her clatterly smoothes out...so do I need to advance it a tiny bit. I was getting white smoke from exhaust after I first fired it up and I drove it and it turned into a blue haze but not constantly....and the OVERDRIVE still ain't engaging lol..what do I do now lol almost gonna put a sale sign on the whore

    20180617_104956.jpg
     
  15. Jonathanbwata

    Jonathanbwata Registered User

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Location:
    Weed, CA
    Had this truck for 2 years and ever since my mechanic skills have greatly increased lol done my first head job and swapped my first motor...before I got this truck I knew nothing about engines..

    20180227_145834.jpg
     
    david85 and Oledirtypearl86 like this.

Share This Page