Spring shackle bolt

Exekiel69

Reaction score
I need to remove so that I can replace the bushing in it and all the other bushing for the leaf spring but the ine on the rear (rear of the leaf spring, I have a 4x2) doesn't want to come out. I removed the nut but the bolt wont even move, I turned it a bit with the ball joint removal tool but it need to come off some more I can't even imagine what it is to put it back.

Am I doing something wrong? What tool do I need for this?

Thank You.

argve

Resident Fruitcake
Reaction score
your just talking the bolt correct? Just make sure that you are supporting the weight but not too much and whack the ever loving snot out of it with a hammer (I prefer brass for this application as to not mushroom the end of the bolt) - try spraying it down with some kroil or PB Blaster before hand.

Exekiel69

Reaction score
Thank You Travis that is what I was hoping. You know what I do for a living and I just happen to have all the tools to literally knock the living $hit out of that MF. Ok, that just give me the strength I needed I'm going for it :backoff :shoot:

160k87F250

not rocket science
Reaction score
EZ,
It's possible the bolt is frozen in the bushing. Worst case is cutting the bolt off at both ends. Usually this damages the spring shackle and/or brackets. Then you need to cut off the rivets on the frame and bolt in new spring brackets.
Good luck.
John

Exekiel69

Reaction score
Well I got it out about 1 1/2 inch but now is the hard part if I can't get it to move any more then I provably cut what is on the way but I hope I don't need to. It there any tool to retrieve bolts? Anyone here invented one? maybe something like the one used to pull steering wheels?

Thank You.

zigg

Full Access Member
Reaction score