Ninth Glow Plug

Poorman

Reaction score
I remember reading some time ago where a guy wired a 9th GP on the dash inside the cab so he could see how hot they were getting. I've been using a manual button for several years and I like it, but I just pulled the GPs and had three bad ones. I am careful not to glow too long, 8 never over 10 seconds, but if I could have a visual read I think that would help. Also I'm always confused on how to after glow once she fires. It's an "86" 6.9 crew cab dually. Might also help to make a fire if I forget matches. THANKS

DaveBen

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
The ninth glow plug will be on the dash somewhere and it will get glowing hot when you use the glow plugs - NOT a good idea. You are better off counting seconds. A second reason is the ninth glow plug will be drawing a LOT of current when energised. This will NOT help the other glow plugs get hot.

chillman88

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm always confused on how to after glow once she fires.

I don't know why you would bother. It's really not necessary. Once it's running just leave it be for a few minutes while it heats itself up and you'll be fine. I don't think the bullnose trucks ever did afterglow? I was always under the impression that came with the newer 7.3 style controller.

Jesus Freak

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I don't know why you would bother. It's really not necessary. Once it's running just leave it be for a few minutes while it heats itself up and you'll be fine. I don't think the bullnose trucks ever did afterglow? I was always under the impression that came with the newer 7.3 style controller.
It's probably not necessary, but I hit the switch a few times after it fired up. Mostly because I burn WMO and I'm trying to help it out. And yeah, the old style system cycles a few times after it cranks up.

franklin2

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Afterglow was only for emissions reasons.