6.9 coolant

Vegas-Misfit

Full Access Member
Reaction score
so my petc o ck valve oring on my radiator went out last night and this morning the driveway was covered in antifreeze IM going to fix it tonight but IM also going to do a flush and am curious what kind of coolant to use in these motors... sorry for the simple questions but IM new to the diesel world and new to the forum... thanks in advance

idiabuse

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Im not saying this is for you but I run Evans Coolant lifetime fill coolant. I have a new engine and radiator so this was a no brainer for me.
In your case you do need a premium coolant, I would go to your local Kelly Tractor and get ya some CAT coolant that has SCAs or NAPA nowcool. Make sure your lower radiator hose cannot collapse, mine did and I had to rebuild my new engine once again. Suck closed at speed caused a rear cylinder to scuff and hurt my ego.

Javier

lotzagoodstuff

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
On a 6.9 it's not that critical as they don't cavitate like a 7.3. Standard "green" antifreeze works just fine, if you are going to keep it for a long time and/or really care about your cooling system, you could install a coolant filter, but it's not terribly necessary on a 6.9. Good luck and welcome to OB by the way.

Vegas-Misfit

Full Access Member
Reaction score
thanks for the welcome... i do plan on keeping this truck for a while... it is my primary vehicle and i will be using it to tow a 16 foot trailer with my wifes car on it in from ca to Ga in January... i am trying to fix everything so i wont think twice about making the 2200 mile trip... so i would like to do it right so i dont have to worry about it in the future... i have ben hearing i "should" run oreilly ELC coolant... i dont mind cost as id rather pay a little more now to save alot in the long run... so any advice is greatly appreciated

Vegas-Misfit

Full Access Member
Reaction score