Sunday Surprise

1Turbo10

Reaction score
I enjoy Reading this site every night as part of my night time fun. As a professional Tech I can say you never stop learning from others and I have learned so much from you all on this site. My problem is this. I have owned this truck, a 1987 CC Dually 6.9 4.10 LS rear end. I am working toward a full restoration. Today I thought I would do a fluid change to the rear. When I dropped the cover off I noticed some large metal pieces laying in the bottom. Hmmm, what could this be??? Now I have set up many rears over the years and was shocked to realize that those very large pieces were from the pinion gear!! Keep in mind this truck drives great,no gear noise what so ever under acceleration or coast talk about a fluke. I tow a 28ft 17k loaded enclosed car trailer with this thing from time to time!! I can only imagine how lucky I am that nothing bad happened. Everything is tight and the comon loose pinion nut is not the problem and all else is fine. Have any of you ever run into a weakness in our pinion gears? Anyway now I need to find a good set of 4.10s and while it's down maybe rebuild the posi unit since I'm in there now.....Appreciate any thoughts/suggestions inexpensive upgrades you might have.

LCAM-01XA

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Are you 100% positive the pieces are from the pinion gear that's in there now? If so then holy cow you're a lucky man! Also I agree it's a good time to rebuild the limited slip if it needs it, I tried finding you a clutch kit from Randy's Ring and Pinion site but to no avail. And may I make a selfish request - if you do decide to rebuild the limited slim, when you pull the old clutches and steels out out, can you please not throw them away, but send them my way in the mail? I will pay for shipping and something extra for your trouble, I need the extra clutches for experimenting with my limited slip (basically I'm trying to see how strong-grabbing I can make the factory unit).

david85