Idi to powerstroke

Thatwhite7tree

Reaction score
So here me out i have a 93 f350 7.3idi na that I love to drive. The problem is I also have a 99 f350 7.3 powerstroke setting in my shop that the motor and trans need a good home and don't worry the body is shot (i am a heavy equipment mechanic and it was one service truck that kept coming in for work has a new motor trans and complete fuel system but the boss was gonna auction it or scrap so I picked up for 1500) but do I sell the 99 and build my idi motor(type 4 cam, r&d turbo kit hotside with a 6.0 intercooler i have), built transmission the full nine yards or do I just put the rebuilt(less than 40,000 miles) powerstroke setup in the truck and go that route. I cant decide either way so I come here for some persuasion. Any input would be appreciated and yes I know i can never make the power out of an idi but there is just something about these old motors and that it will be a lot of work but I work on diesel equipment for 12+ hrs a day and have acces to a lift.
thanks,

Big Bart

Tow&Slow
Reaction score
That is definitely debatable. If it was me I would go a different direction. I would find a nice donor power stroke truck (Blown engine, nice body and cab.) for your engine and trans. Swap your engine/trans into that. Pull hard to get/wear items off the scrap body as spares. I would use the power stroke as my daily driver and the IDI as my back up truck.

Why? The power stroke is just more powerful as it is turbo, electronic injected, etc. It also commands a better resale. Dumping a bunch of money into a IDI could mean you lose money when you sell it down the road.

If you put it in the IDI you have to bring the computer, wiring, and such and likely cut here and weld there, etc. So now repairs are potentially going to be more complex.