Educate me about my turbo- factory ATS

smolkin

Stuck inside Mobile
Reaction score
I am a total turbo newbie, I've never owned one. My new truck has what I believe is a factory wastegated ATS. At the moment, I'm not sure how well it's functioning, and particularly with the wastegate I'm unsure as to what it's supposed to be doing anyway. Can anyone give me some general info on the normal operation? And how do I tell what exact model this is?

A few things I've noticed:

-Does not appear to have any major leaks, but top is barely wet...is this bad? (also missing an airbox bolt)
You must be registered for see images attach

-Wastegate rod was not attached when I got it, I hooked it back up, and it is missing whatever holds it on.
The actuator has some good spring tension on it and was hard to pull out. It also has an ugly welded repair to where it
apparently broke in half. When driving it, I can't really hear any turbo or wastegate noise.

-CDR is leaking at the valve cover, is this the grommet that is hard to find?

So far, all my time and post-sale money have been spent getting the front end right. Yesterday I replaced the whole front brakes and bearings, and it got new tie rod ends earlier in the week. So I'm scraping the bottom of the money barrel atm but at least I've gotten the truck to the point where I can drive it now. Anything you guys can tell me about these turbos would be helpful and I'd like to know if there's gonna be an expensive fix on the horizon...

smolkin

Stuck inside Mobile
Reaction score
Someone probably purposely unhooked the wastegate rod, for higher boost.

Should I have left it off? The lever was kind of half-open/ half-closed when I first noticed it. Is it bad to tie it shut without a pyro or boost gauge?

Leeland

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Should I have left it off? The lever was kind of half-open/ half-closed when I first noticed it. Is it bad to tie it shut without a pyro or boost gauge?