Do our trucks really NEED Turbos?

Camarogenius

Reaction score
Maybe something's funky with my pump and timing, I don't know. I got in a "drag race" today, with a powerchoke 4x4 manual, and won. What made the difference, is knowing how and when to shift.
Keep in mind, I've been a truck driver for 15 years, So I'm aware of optimum shift points, Whereas the kid in the powerjunk kept hitting the governor.
Even with the ameture driving, it wasn't a blowout, but still. I don't feel underpowered at all. Certainly not enough to justify dumping more than the cost of my truck on a hair dryer.
I'm just wondering, how much of the under power complaints could be cured by proper shifting? Does this sound arrogant? It's not meant that way. Just an observation. [flamesuit]

Michael Fowler

Reaction score
I can only tell you that the reports from the same drivers, driving the same trucks--when they compare their own trucks' befroe and after adding the turbo--there is a world of difference.

I used to out corner a 911 Porsche while driving my Taurus---there is something to be said for the ability of the driver.

fsSnowboard

Full Access Member
Reaction score
yes, driver skill has alot to do with the performance of any vehicle. I think a turbo would help out with acceleration. My truck is kinda a slug. If i really get into it it can go a bit faster, but i think a turbo would help.

gabbyr100rs

Reaction score
I drove my truck for about a year in its original NA state before I had Banks install a turbo while I was out on the left coast. I can tell you that it is not even in the same league with its prior capabilities--particularly if you are climbing, or driving with a load, trailer, or at any elevation. Much more power, even at only 8# of boost, which is all my setup puts out.

Very much worth it to me. Drive one and see what you think.

jauguston

Retired
Reaction score