Caliper Rebuild

89Laredo

Underemployed
Reaction score
Keep in mind that I am NOT an expert and this is my first rebuild, I may have done something different/wrong.
I am not suggesting you follow this as a definitive guide to caliper rebuilding, it is just an example of what you can expect on a rebuild and how I did mine.
I am not responsible if you kill yourself or someone else.
I was also taking most of these pics one handed and covered in brake fluid/grease, I see a lot of them didn't turn out too good.

1:
Buy rebuild kit
You must be registered for see images

2:
Remove caliper, drain fluid, put in vice.

3:
Use a c clamp or something to hold one piston in. Use compressed air to force other piston out. Stuff some rags in there, they pop out with a lot of force.

http://youtu.be/OWRBeqWqKAw

4:
Slightly reinsert the piston you just popped out, just enough to make a seal. Hold in with c clamp, pop out other piston.
You may have one that is stuck. Spray penetrating oil into the caliper and let the piston soak in it. You may also have to force the piston IN with the vice. Be patient, it should pop out easily after a while.

5:
Clean up the caliper body. Hone/emery cloth the bores. Clean with brake cleaner, dry with compressed air.

6:
Lube your seals and insert into grooves.
I used silicone grease, this may be wrong, you can just use brake fluid.

7:
Clean piston. Emery cloth/scotch brite.

8:
Lube sealing surface of one dust boot and insert into caliper. Didn't get a good pic of this.

9:
The trickiest part of this and I didn't get a pic. Insert one piston into caliper to create a seal like you did earlier, hold in with c clamp. Hold other piston against dust boot and apply compressed air through the banjo bolt hole. The dust boot should blow up like a balloon and go over the piston easily. It's tricky but doable.
As you push the piston into the caliper the dust boot will seat into it's groove.

10: