6.9 IDI smoking questions

Numb Nutz

Reaction score
Good afternoon, Noob here. I was looking at an 84 F350 4x4 8ft dump and plow with an 6.9 and c6 for $1500. The owner says his son was driving it and it started blowing white smoke, drove it home and parked it. They have removed the radiator, starter and alternator in preparation of a motor swap, lost interest, bought another truck. The motor does turn over with a socket and bar on the crank, so it is not seized. It has been sitting for a while, less than 2 years.It looks in good shape, tires, dump bed, plow and such. The cab corners, floors and rockers look to have been done in the last few years, just need finishing. Also home brew 2.5" dual exhaust is fairly recent.

My questions are as follows.

1) I checked the oil and it is dirty. However no sign of coolant, diesel or metal shavings in it. Could the engine be ok even though it was smoking? Another issue besides head gasket/cracked block cause this?
2) If it is ok, what do i need to get it running? These are fairly simple correct? Diesel, air and 2 good batteries and it should run... Its about 45 miles from me and id like to drive it home instead of having it towed

I can fix just about anything with a little bit of knowledge on the subject, on the IDI subject i have none :) Any info will be greatly appreciated and any thing i learn from it, i will be happy to share here

Thanks, Keith

FrozenMerc

Full Access Member
Reaction score
1. The engine could be just fine, or it could be roasted. Buy it under the assumption you will be doing a full rebuild and pay accordingly. White smoke can be caused by any number of reasons. Could be a problem with the injection pump or an injector, could be coolant ingestion (bad head gasket, cracked cylinder head, bad intake gasket), or could be oil ingestion (bad valve seal, bad CDR valve, large amounts of blow by, etc).