wont start

86ford69jw

redneck
Reaction score
2003 F250 with 7.3 wont start. Was running just fine then died going down the road. Now it wont start. Cranks fine but makes a thud from the passenger side while cranking might be the crappy starter. was told it might be the fuel pressure regulator. Problem is Ive never done one. I know where it is but it came off in pieces. turned the nut and it came off with a cap type thing and then the body came off the shaft. What do I do now?

Kevin 007

Full-floater
Reaction score
Could it be a camshaft position sensor? I hear of similar symptoms when they fail. Im new to the strokes and learning them to,

Sorry to hear you sold your 86.....them are the best!!!

86ford69jw

redneck
Reaction score
I talked to Darrin and he said the same thing. I am very very sad the 86 is gone is was awesome. Came from Fl so no rust. I paid 1700 for it and put another 3500 in it. just couldnt aford to spend anymore. The way it went is even worse.

Kevin 007

Full-floater
Reaction score
Yeah maybe replace it, can't hurt. I have a 95 and I keep a spare in the glove box.
Don't give up on the strokes tho,,,out of the newer diesels I would choose a 7.3 stroke over anything else. They do have a few bugs that need working out like ANY ford diesel but once they are done and you are familiar with them im sure you will like it. They do run nice.

Just keep you oil clean

86ford69jw

redneck
Reaction score
Well its not my truck. Its my buddies ride and its pushing 315K he dosent keep the oil clean and beats the **** out of it. It still runs pretty good for the most part. I have been doing lots of reading on the strokes and have learnd alot. I can pretty much do a good diagnosis in just a few mins with a test light and multimeter. I still prefer the old idis i just love the sound and body styles.

Kevin 007

Full-floater
Reaction score