Turbo not lining up?

mightykp

Reaction score
Completed swap from non turbo 91 E-350 to a turbo idi 94 f-350. Engine in, tranny completed (thanks forum) and at the final step...
exhaust pipes fit snugly and turbo sits fine with all pipes except the final intake manifold, swirling pipe that connects to the turbo outlet.
We're off by a good 1-2 inches.
is the van different from the truck? Why is not aligned? I'm certain that the turbo and exhaust pipes all sit correctly. And the final intake pipe to engine will sit correctly, but doesn't mate with turbo.
Help or ideas?

You must be registered for see images attach

Farmer Rock

just a fella' without a 10mm socket
Reaction score
I am not an expert on turbos by any means, but I do know the turbo kits for a van are different than a turbo kit for an f-series truck. I am not sure what the difference is, but I would imagine the vans were tighter on space, so it is probably more compact in some way.

Rock

chillman88

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
It doesn't look too far off to me, if I recall correctly you need to put the intake snail on the turbo BEFORE you bolt the turbo to the piping. You cannot slide the intake snail into place without unbolting the turbo now.

The_Josh_Bear

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It doesn't look too far off to me, if I recall correctly you need to put the intake snail on the turbo BEFORE you bolt the turbo to the piping. You cannot slide the intake snail into place without unbolting the turbo now.
This is true and a total PITA.

Yes but I don't know if you can get to all the bolts with the turbo on the engine. Doesn't look like it needs to be clocked to me. Especially if everything was lined up correctly on the old engine.