Newbie W/ Clutch Fork Question

arctic-20v

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to oilburners and fairly new idi diesels. Well my roommate for the last two years has a '92 7.3l so I know a little and have a reference for the basics.

a little back ground on my pick-up its an '86 f250 4x4 4speed. I found it on a trailer for sale for $500 bucks in non running condition. It was missing the rad. and hoses battery's, alternator, the box, various small interior parts, side mirrors, other small items, and clutch issues. visual inspection found the inspection plate missing, the clutch fork in the cab, and a new slave zip tied to the frame rail.

Long story short, It looked solid very little rust. Ran a compression test and all cylinders were between 300 and 360 psi. I knew it had to be able to start but didn't want to get it to fire in front of the owner. (instant price increase)

Came back the next day and hauled it away. An hour after having it at my house had it running after some fresh diesel and bleeding air of the lines. Since then I've done return line kit, found a radiator, bought hoses, a box, rear bumper, new filters including a wix water separator to replace the stock one, and inspection plate. Pretty much have everything under the hood done except the alternator. Its coming together well, and i'm doing it on a budget. Only in it for $750 as of now :D

anyways my Clutch Fork Question

My roommate and I are have a hell of a time getting the clutch fork in. Well we get in in the bell housing but it is way loose on TOB. It doesn't seem to have any room for travel. With our hand we can push the fork 1/4" and the back of the fork with contact the back side of "the fork window".