Ignition replacement.. how the heck do you do it??

trekbkr03

Reaction score
Hey guys, I am a newbie here but you all came highly recommended off of one of my other 4x4 forums. I have a 99 F-250 SD 7.3L 4x4 with automatic transmission. I bought this after another guy had laid it into a ditch. I am doing most of the body work myself, but I have run into a few quarky problems. 1st. When batteries are connected all the running lights and interior gizmos stay on (radio etc..)
This burned up my starter celanoid and my starter because it was I guess shorting out and acting as if it were in the ignition position. It burned up my starter and I am getting mine rebuilt right now. BUT in order for me to have this thing mobile in a week or two I need to get my ignition replaced I guess??
I have never replaced the ignition on one of these, any suggestions or hints as to how to go about it? Anything in particular I should look for?

This truck was laid into a ditch on the drivers side, but how it messed with the ignition I have no idea. Is this a common problem in these fords or is this just some sort of anomoly? Thanks again guys and hope to have some helpful hints. You can shoot me an email if you want at [email protected] or you can feel free to call me at (615)-390-6797 THANKS!

Mike

Stroker
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Does the ignition cylinder feel like it is messed up? Can you get the key into it and turn it freely? I'd be looking for a short somewhere underhood/underdash were it me. Possibly the GEM module.

trekbkr03

Reaction score