Dead e4od. What to look for first?

nitroguy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Just picked up a new to me 91 f250 for cheap, but it needs a bit of love. Specifically, a transmission. At least that's what the PO said. Said "it was running fine, then dropped a gear, then dropped all of them". Not entirely sure what that means.

I checked the fluid, and it was below the dip stick. My hopeful self was thinking a top off and maybe I'm golden. We'll, topped 'er off and no dice. Still nothing.

So here's what it's doing....
Nothing .

Shift into reverse, park, drive, neutral... Nothing. No movement no noise, nothing.

Am I looking at a reman replace time? Or is there a chance it's something easier that I should check first?

Thanks guys!
You must be registered for see images attach

And since "pics or it didn't happen", here it is.
And because I'm not too proud, my "ahhh crap" moment unloading it.

IDIBRONCO

IDIBRONCO
Reaction score
I'm no transmission expert, but I'd try the fluid first. Maybe do that second. First check underneath at the transmission, the cooler, and the cooler lines to see if you can find an obvious leak. The way you describe what the Po said, it sounds like it happened pretty quickly. That makes me think that maybe a hole got rubbed in one of the lines or maybe one of the rubber lines got a hole in them (or something else happened) and all of the fluid leaked out while driving. from experience while younger, when this happens, it doesn't take long to lose enough fluid to stop moving.

That's a pretty nice looking truck for a cheap price. Now if you can just stop parking it on your trailer fenders....:joker:

nitroguy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Thanks guys. Looks dry underneath, no major leaks that I could find.

I'll pull the pan tomorrow and see what I can see. Wish me luck! First time opening one of these up.

nitroguy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Also, can you confirm for me that this statement is true: