Clutch and IP Questions

wwwabbit

Mmmmm Diesel
Reaction score
First off, WOW there is a whole lota information here! I have spend (to my wife's disgust) all afternoon reading through here.

I am looking at a '91 F250 with the 7.3, and a 5spd. The motor was replaced 26k ago... The guy is selling it "cheap" with some problems. I am new to Ford diesel's, but I have a good mechanical mind and have done some wrenching before (Head gasket/rings/bearings my rabbit's diesel a few years back) I can definatly follow instructions/books for just about anything.

Anyway, I have 2 questions

1) The guy says The clutch/flywheel/pressure plate and throwout bearing where done with the motor, all have around 26k on them, but the flywheel was changed over to a solid one without springs (the one with springs was going to be an additional 1200 bucks on the 5000 dollar motor bill) unfortunately the shop installed the wrong clutch disk, it doesn't have springs either, so it causes a rattle. This is a well documented problem and requires the 6.9 clutch disk with springs to cure.

How true is this? Will this work? Anyone have any info that would help me on this? This "rattle" would it cause any damage to the trans or anything like that? Would it be safe to drive it for a while like this, or should this be fixed ASAP?

2) IP problems... It has 3 pumps that come with it. The one that is currently on it is one I put together out of parts, but it didn't work out that well. It can't be timed properly which causes the truck to smoke. One of the other pumps works perfectly, but fuel is by passing a seal internally and coming out the breather hole on the bottom.
I am going to guess that I could take all 3 IP's to a local diesel shop, and the should be able to rebuild an test at least one of them... Any thoughts on what something like this would run me?

Thanks for helping me out, looking forward to joining the IH IDI group with a new (to me) truck!

The Warden

MiB Impersonator
Supporting Member