7.3 idi boost.....

Cletusduhlitass

Reaction score
hey so I’m pretty new to making posts on a forum. I’ve read quite a bit about boosting an idi and everyone and their mother has a different opinion. My idi has a good bit of modification already. (1989 f-superduty){edit: truck is a weekend warrior not my daily nor do I tow haul or anything of that nature, I just drive the truck roll some coal and enjoy it} imo it exceptionally well. It has a facet electric fuel pump. Stainless injector lines r&d stage 1 injectors and upgraded returns. I’ve been told this truck has a “loggers” cam in it. No proof on that nor have I ever driven another idi to compare it to, but from outside sources people all day long tell me they’ve never seen a idi run the way mine does. For my daily job I bend and plumb exhaust systems so I plumbed a turbo set up (I’ll try and post pictures) I’m using a eBay special Honda turbo I had laying around T04E which has a {.63ar exh/ .50ar intk} (I know it’s extreamly small) I went this route because A:I’ve seen people push these turbos really really far and B:they’re only 1/200 <300$ turbos and C:these motors don’t rev out so I figured if I went small turbo I could have more boost faster..... but the main question is how much boost psi do you professionals believe I can push inside of this thing while retaining my headgaskets (no studs)

You must be registered for see images attach

Thewespaul

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I dont think boost will be your issue with that small of a turbo, the factory turbo is significantly larger than that t04e and it starts to run out of steam around 13-15 psi. I think the first issue you may run into is not having a wastegate to bypass that tiny turbine.

Cletusduhlitass

Reaction score
I’m kinda confused you think it’s not going to make more then 15 and I’m going to need a wastegate to bleed anything after 15?

Thewespaul

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score