6.9 vs. 6.2 vs. 6.5

IH POWER

ALL MOTOR!
Reaction score
Can someone give me an UNBIASED opinion of the Pros/Cons of the 6.2s, 6.5s, and 6.9s and a comparison between them? Very curious about the 6.2s and 6.5s.

DesertBen44

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Im no expert but I have multiple friends who swear by the 6.2. 6.2 is the most fuel efficient, it came in a half duty pickup (for those that are into that) and there are so many military 6.2 surplus engines and parts out there they will be around for a long time. I have driven a few 6.2s and was not impressed by the performance at all. They say a banks kit will really liven it up.

I have never driven a 6.5; but in county's that don't require emissions I know of people who take early 90s 6.5 chevys, junk the 6.5 motor, putting in a 6.2 with a banks kit.

Comparing them is difficult, I have always been a chevy guy but when I wanted a 4x4 5 speed manual diesel, i bought a Ford.

Maverick1701

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have driven several 6.2s and 6.5s in our HMMWVs at the SO. They are pretty easy to work on (similar to an IDI). They get pretty good mpgs assuming we aren't bajaing through a field or something.
I have never driven a 6.9 so I cant speak to it.

I do know there are A LOT of CUCVs and other vehicles w/the 6.2 and or 6.5 for super cheap. I would venture to say that over 1/2 of the members over on my steelsoldiers forum run them and have no trouble finding parts, spare motors or spare trucks.

Ataylor

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Just an opinion, but I think that parts for the 6.2 and 6.5 engines will be available for alot longer than the International IDI engines because they were used in Humvees.

Archie

GOOSE

Happy IDI'er
Reaction score