6.9 engine harness meltdown 85 E350 really bad situation

899ccs

Reaction score
Hi folks, could really use some expert help. I will give you all the info I can. I am a former Master tech but limited in diesel hands on repairs. This van has the 6.9 idi non turbo. The harness coming from the passenger side near firewall burned up the fuse links pretty good. This is what happened. I had the block heater plugged in over night. The glow plugs have never worked since the van was given to me three years ago. I am assuming this because the light has never lit up. I have not tested the circuit. Summer time it would need just a light spritz of starter fluid to start then once warmed up it would start rest of the day no problem even if it sat for several hours. Winter time it needs to be plugged in to for while then starts no ether. Not plugged in it would need ether. Really really cold need both. This morning it was plugged in started up fine temp outside low 40's. Did not warm it up, drove it about 1 mile and parked for 6 hours with no ability to plug in. Came out to start it and cranked for a few seconds no start. Opened hood shot ether than cranked engine it started. Backed out and saw smoke pouring out from hood and re parked then shut down. Opened hood to smoldering harness, burned up fuse links and the wiring to sensors at front of engine melted right to the connector terminals. It is sitting in bad spot and I need to get it running to get it home which is about a mile. Towing it is a big expense with tow truck, pulling it home doesn't help me because of my driveway is at a steep grade. Further complicating things is the freezing outside temps.
So now it is burnt wiring and crank but no start. What do I need to repair in the wiring to get it going?