3.08 gears installed, fuel milage is waaaaaay up

tonkadoctor

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I swapped the 4.10 gears out and put in 3.08 gears in just over a week ago and here is what I found.

A little about my driving first. I was an over the road trucker and owner operator for 8 years with over 1 million logged miles of safe driving in the US and Canada, (I'll never tell how many were not logged:D ). I learned many years ago to short shift and skip shift when possible to save fuel and I still drive this way today shifting at about 1500 rpm.

Around town I run righ at the speed limit and on the highway I generally run about 63 in the granny lane because I hate fighting traffic and swapping lanes all the time to pass cars. Besides I'm retired and ain't in no hurry for anybody.

99.9% of my driving is flat land and empty, my heaviest loads are around 3000 - 4000 lbs roughly once a month and my heaviest tow is about 8000 lbs a couple times a year.

Now for the facts about the swap.
  • My fuel milage around town has increased from 15.50 mpg to 18.08 mpg:D .
  • 2.5 mpg increase in fuel milage makes me very happy, way better than expected.
  • I now use all 5 gears accelerating instead of 2nd, 4th and 5th.
  • about a 500 rpm drop per gear
  • 55mph is about 1400 rpm, 65mph around 1700
  • Total cost of the swap was $320 which will pay for itself in 108 gallons of fuel saved in less than 2000 miles at $2.94 per gallon
I'll be able to update this post when I take a road trip on friday and get to check my highway milage.

I'm happy with my decision as it fit's what I do well. If I was using this truck for hauling heavy loads, towing heavy trailers all the time or lived in hilly mountainous terrain I probably would'nt go higher than a 3.55 ratio.

cscmc1

Full Access Member
Reaction score