“Click” to “Click Click”

IDIDually

Reaction score
So I replaced my Starter, battery cables, fended solenoid Cleaned up all the ground connections. Put everything back the way I started (new). Truck fired up started awesome. Sounded Great. After a few mins of warming up at idle. (Truck sat for 2 months getting parts and cash to complete). Started to hear a high Pitch grinding sound coming from the starter then not long after smoke. I immediately shut the truck down, investigated, cannot find the problem this is my first time changing out a starter, don’t know if I did something wrong. Don’t know where to troubleshoot. Help would be greatly appreciate. (stumped).

captain720

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Is it possible you need a starter spacer? Sounds like the starter is not disengaging from the ring gear and getting spun super fast.

pabair

Reaction score
I have an ‘89 7.3 IDI that burned up a new starter when the ignition start rod running from ignition down dash to start switch stuck on. You might check if your ignition start switch is staying on.
Good luck!

Big Bart

Tow&Slow
Reaction score
As pabair mentions, common issue with these trucks being 30 years old. Worn out ignition switches (bottom of steering column.) or the ignition lock and rod in the column sticking.

So the starter stays on, truck is loud so you do not hear it, and the starter becomes a generator and starts to get hot and starts burning up the electrical to and from it.

I would pull the starter and have it tested. (If burned up or visibly problematic warranty it out for a new one.) I would go ahead and replace the ignition switch. (Likely time to anyhow.) And look closely at your battery cables to the block and starter to see if damaged.

Maybe your starter was bad and did not retract. Or the solenoid on the starter did not release and shut off. Maybe the solenoid on the fender well got stuck on. But the above ignition switch issue is very common.

IDIDually

Reaction score