White/Blue Smoke with oily fuel in exhaust pipe

RoadKing83

Reaction score
I have a 1992 7.3 idi NA with 222,000 on the clock. Its smoking real bad white/blue, warm or cold same smoke. It starts good warm or cold with no loss of coolant.

The oil is high in it and seems a little thin to me which makes me thing in might have fuel contamination but its not smelling like it.

The oil in the tail pipe is thin which again makes me thing its oily fuel. I got enough to soak a rag with it and it burn fast lol which makes me think fuel again. When revved up it will spray out of the pipe with increase of exhaust pressure.

The injectors and glow plugs have been replaced so i cracked the lines while running and each injector made the same significant change in the engine. Im no expert but that tells me the injectors are probably not the problem.

There seems to be no blow by as when i take the oil filler cap off all there is only small amount of venting and no pressure build when covered.

Im trying to decided weather or not to pull and rebuild the engine but i would really like to not have to. I do plan on doing a leak down and compression test ASAP.

Any other thoughts would be great. Thanks

Thewespaul

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Either the lift pump is bad, or the shaft seals went bad in the injection pump.

RoadKing83

Reaction score
Can you explain to me how fuel would get to the exhaust side if the IP pump was bad? I agree with the fuel lift pump thank you

IDIBRONCO

IDIBRONCO
Reaction score
Not quite an answer, but what ever liquid that comes out of the tailpipe, for whatever reason will be black from the soot in the exhaust. The color doesn't necessarily mean that it's oily.

IDIBRONCO

IDIBRONCO
Reaction score
In continuation, I've blown black crap out of my exhaust after three days of rain before. This poor sprinkler will never be the same again.:)

You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach