Truck runs rough

kevstar1212

Reaction score
Hey guys I’m pretty new to the 7.3 idi. I’m looking at purchasing my first one. Went to test drive it and it started running really rough. Was he’d to start and idled really rough. Give it some fuel and it cleared up a bit. Popped the hood and I could see it was all wet in the valley behind/under the injection pump. Is this a common issue ? Lines ? Pump itself ? The guy said he had a spare pump and set of injectors he would throw in. He’s asking 2500 for it. Said he would throw in pump and injectors and take 2250. It’s a fairly clean 94 turbo crew cab dually auto. With some work it could make a decent truck. What do you guys think? Bargain with him or walk away?

Also I’m looking into this truck as something to set up for running WMO. I have other vehicles and just looking for something to putts around with and save fuel in/ take on trips. Want it to be reliable but it’s. It like I need to drive it to work every day. Thanks

nostrokes

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Is it oil or fuel on the vally pan? Sounds like it's got a leaky fuel system. Does he know the history of the extra pump and injectors? How many miles on them, rebuilt ect..

I'd try and bargain with him and see what comes of that

kevstar1212

Reaction score
Is it oil or fuel on the vally pan? Sounds like it's got a leaky fuel system. Does he know the history of the extra pump and injectors? How many miles on them, rebuilt ect..

I'd try and bargain with him and see what comes of that

Looks to be diesel as best I can tell, history on pump and injectors is that its off his other truck that he purchased blown up and he dropped a reman motor in it. I guess he said he has the pump and injectors that came on the bad motor. I didn’t ask about miles or if they are rebuilt. I’m assuming he won’t know. Since he just bought he truck that way.

Is it Common for them to leak bad when they go out ? Could it just be a fuel line ?

Hydro-idi

Full Access Member