Towing issues?

Chadillac

Reaction score
Im wondering if I have an issue here. I have a 1994 f250 7.3 with a banks sidewinder mated up to an e4od with a banks trans command module. The rear end is geared at I believe 4:10.
The truck has 106k and the transmission has been rebuilt.
This past weekend I was towing my 4000lb trailer and I had the thing floored to get up a small grade from a standing start. The tranny sat in 3rd for what felt like an eternity getting up to over 3000rpm. The boost was reading around 10psi and the pyro was around 1000-1100. The trans temp was around 210.
It seems that this thing should pull an ultralight camping trailer with little to no effort. Am I missing something here or doing something wrong? I’m planning on going over the cascades and bitteroots next month. I’m new to towing and a starting point for troubleshooting would be greatly appreciated

Thewespaul

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Check your air filter and replace the fuel filter if it hasn’t been done in 3500 miles. If all that is good I would advance the timing a dimes width

jayro88

Full Access Member
Reaction score
All of your numbers seem to be okay, but it does sound like performance is down. I will be interested to see what happens with some timing adjustment.

I tow a 7000 lb travel trailer with my NA e250 that has a c6 and 3.54 gears. Uphill performance isn’t great, but I very rarely put the throttle on the floor even if starting up a hill of some kind.

With it on the floor were you blowing much black smoke out the exhaust?

As far as the holding 3rd gear, I would expect it to hold a gear longer with your throttle position and for towing purposes you usually want the trans to shift later anyway. Any idea what kind of torque converter was put in with the trans rebuild?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chadillac

Reaction score
I’m really not sure what kind of converter is in there. And I didn’t see slot of smoke either.