tierod and suspension expert?:)

hjalbert

Reaction score
I am going to be replacing the entire tie rod/draglink assembly on my truck./ I am assuming I will need new Adjustment sleeves , passengers tierod end(outer) , and the draglink(inner, this part attaches to the pitman arm, and the drivers side tierod) and the drivers side outer and inner tierod. I have a crew cab 2wd, And I am finding that the parts for a crew cab are more expensive, and also, less available. I wondered if it was possibleto use regualr cab parts since I was replacing everything, and since the pitman arm is the same regardless of the cab, I thought this would work. The difference I can find is the size thread used on the crew is 1 inch, and on the standard cab is 22mm......AnyOne an expert at suspension?

yARIC008

Drives really slow
Reaction score
Hm.. well i'm not an expert, but i've replaced all my tierods and such. Basically you need to replace everything. When i did mine i didn't buy new adjustment sleeves and they eneded up being really nasty and the threads got really nasty, so i had to end up buying new ones. They were cheap but it was a pain to go get them right in the middle of the project. May as well just buy everything then use it all and if you don't use it all go return it later.

Um.. i would think you should probably use the stuff made for your truck. I'd imagine you could get away with using other components for another truck as you noted, but ford must have had some reason for changing it. And i bet you don't want to be driving down the road and find out what that reason was :eek:

Steering on a vehicle is a very crucial thing and i just wouldn't mess with it, unless of course you really know what you're doing and are willing to have your wheels fling you off the road and wreck your truck. -cuss

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Where are you pricing your parts?

82fordtruck

Reaction score