Down pipe and v clamp

Rondo

Full Access Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2022
Posts
117
Reaction score
58
Location
Colorado
I have a small leak where the down pipe connects to the turbo. It became very loud and I thought I had destroyed my engine. I do eve it home at about 35 mph and yesterday I tightened up the v clamp. That took care of the loud noise. I still have a small leak at the joint. I can see puffs when I start it and heat ticks when driving down the road. It blows right in the firewall.

I am thinking about replacing the v clamp first since it is probably original. Where is a good place to purchase it. Part number would be helpful. Also my next step after that would be to replace the down pipe. I have found a couple. Most of them increase your pipe diameter to at least 3”. I am not interested in increasing my pipe diameter. Any suggestions on where to obtain a new down pipe?

thanks
 

IDIoit

MachinistFabricator
Supporting Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2014
Posts
13,325
Reaction score
3,898
Location
commiefornia
all i know of is the 3" DP's
could always make your own.
 

Rondo

Full Access Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2022
Posts
117
Reaction score
58
Location
Colorado
The 3 in down pipe requires your turbo housing to be modified. I want to stay with the stock size. I would prefer to replace the pipe without removing turbo, if possible. Of course I want to try just replacing the v clamp first.
 

gnathv

Full Access Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Posts
1,053
Reaction score
529
Location
Athens, Al
Do you have the 093 turbo? If so will this work?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1235.png
    IMG_1235.png
    691.8 KB · Views: 6

Nero

HD Diesel nut
Joined
Jan 3, 2022
Posts
2,474
Reaction score
2,520
Location
OR
How does the stock 093 turbo have to be modified for a 3in down pipe? My kit came with the 3in and worked just fine with my 093
 

BlindAmbition

Full Access Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Posts
374
Reaction score
312
Location
SoCal
Couldn't one just bolt one of these generic eBay vband clamp plates on and get a bigger exhaust downpipe? Wastegate would be deleted, though some of them have a wastegate configuration as well.

3" vband clamp 5 bolt t3/t4 adapter comes up with a ton of results and configurations

You must be registered for see images attach
 

Rondo

Full Access Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2022
Posts
117
Reaction score
58
Location
Colorado
From what I have read is the back of turbo has to be cut off and a 3in adapter welded into it. Yes I have the stock turbo. Isn’t that the ATS 93?
 

BlindAmbition

Full Access Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Posts
374
Reaction score
312
Location
SoCal
The ATS 093 is the aftermarket turbo and came with a 3" DP

The factory turbo is made by ATS but has the squished downpipe
 
Top