So I have been running a mix of R290 & R600a in my A/C system

FoolhardyIDI

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Well I have been running R290 and R600a in my ac system for 6 months now. On a 115 degree day I am getting 50 degrees out the vents on high while driving. When sitting in traffic I get 62-64 degrees. I have tried the blue at .067 and red .062 orifice tube so far. My next trial will be the orange .057 orifice tube. My hope is that I can squeeze a few more degrees out of the system with the smaller orifice tube. So far I have updated my entire ac system. I switch out everything for r134a in the system. Condenser, evaporator, Suction line, Liquid line, and Compressor. The reason for trying the new refrigerants is the best my system could cool on the R134a was a dismal 68 degrees. Any thoughts, questions or advice is always welcomed.

Last edited:

cpdenton

Truck needs paint.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
You have something going on there. What are the pressures you are seeing high side, and low side.

My r-134 system will blow 38 degree air. That is with a compressor of unknown age too. Had a broke condenser when I bought the truck. I slapped a new one on and put a little freon with dye in to look for other leaks. 3 years later I am still cooling well.

One other thing to try might be a heater core shutoff valve like the explorers and rangers have.

DaytonaBill

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
That's why I switched to a propane/isobutane blend in the summer of 2009.

R-290 (European CARE® 40) is Propane and R-600A (European CARE® 10) is Isobutane. Yep, they use the stuff in cars, in Europe AND Australia!!! Long story...

Btw, if you use any hydrocarbon refrigerant like this, you have to tell the A/C service guy or he will kick your ass for letting him ruin his expensive recycling machine!

I once got 45 degrees out of the vents, full fan, with outside temps running 105 degrees in Nashville, TN., July of 2012...