Smoke Under Load

rickrat

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Im still new to diesels. I have an 83 6.9. I have always heard that under heavy load, or going up steep hills under full throttle that they will blow some black smoke. Mine does not blow any smoke at all, no matter what I try. It does shoot a little grey somke when starting up in extremely cold weather, but then stops, otherwise nothing at all.
Does this mean that I am not utilizing its full power potential? Is it out of tune?

FordGuy100

Reaction score
You could have a high altitude IDI. Other then that, it could be your IP and injectors are getting old and worn out.

Whats the altitude you live and drive at?

Dirtleg

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It means you could use more fuel but you don't have to. If it's starting good warm and it runs well I would leave it alone. I would not turn up the fuel until after you have installed an EGT gauge. (pyrometer) example;

My truck had a dying IP. It would start cold but not hot. I installed a remanufactured IP from International. It is supposed to be calibrated to factory specs for my model year and transmission. At the same time I installed it I put in an EGT because I feel that this information is vital to know on a diesel. Well let me tell you that this stock calibrated pump under full throttle with no load on truck could easily cause a meltdown inside the motor due to high EGT's. It will put out a little smoke but not an inky black stream of it like you see some diesels doing. If I'm on the highway I can't hardly see the smoke under heavy load (8000 lb trailer 1050 EGT's)