Shudder in Transmission

dnoellsch

Reaction score
I am new to automatic transmissions so bear with me...

I have a 94 F-250 that I was pulling a 5th wheel camper with over the weekend when some strange things started happening in my transmission.

Whenever a the truck was under load, or I tried to accelerate up a hill or even a slight incline, the truck would start shuddering. I could get it to stop by letting off of the throttle but if I tried to accelerate again it would shudder. This would usually result in my downshifting from O/D, but even then if I added too much throttle it would shudder even when not in overdrive. The engine is plenty powerful but whenever this shudder would occur, it seemed like there was no power and it wouldn't accelerate the shuddering would just get louder.

Once I got the the camper off, the problem was much less extreme but was definately still there.

If you guys have any ideas as to what the problem may be I would really appreciate hearing what you think.

Thanks,
David

P.S. I forgot to add that the O/D light is flashing, but was flashing before this problem was noticed. When I first got it checked out, the techs told me there was no problem and to reset it. But I have a feeling that they had no idea what they were talking about now...
Also, I checked the tranny fluid and it is clean and full.

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
The blinking OD light is the first thing to go after. The shudder may be a side effect. I'm not much of an E40D expert, so someone who is will chime in. Can we assume you've done the obvious and properly maintained the fluids in this transmission? My guess is the FIPL sensor should be replaced/Adjusted.

BTW, for everyone interested, I learned that the FIPL sensor on our E40D trucks is a common part with a TPS sensor used in certain model years of the Ford Ranger. Go figure! :)

pafixitman

Reaction score