New (to me) 7.3 crew dually and some zf5 swap questions

CrewCabFanatic

Reaction score
Howdy everybody! I just bought a '93 crew cab dually long bed with the 7.3. Has a few of the common 26 year old truck type issues that Im fixing, but it's a pretty sound truck that I hope to own for many years to come. I fell in love with it pretty quickly.

I have decided to swap in a zf5, and went ahead and bought one. Most of the swap looks pretty straightforward, I've done a few transmissions so I'm not completely new, but I'm no expert either. My question relates to the driveshaft and u joints- I understand that I will need a longer driveshaft going from e4od to zf. My question is, is there a source for the correct length shaft, so that I can do a pretty much straightforward bolt up, or will I have to go to a driveshaft shop and have it lengthened? The u-joints are also larger with a manual vs auto; should I swap them all, front to back, or will doing just the yoke and u-joint that attaches to the trans suffice?

Thank you in advance for your help, and for welcoming me to this great resource!

Clb

Another old truck
Supporting Member
Reaction score
swap out pinion yolk and get a 5 speed shaft for the wheelbase... Option 1

have a shaft with 2 separate yolks made option 2

Personal choice here only.

Some might balk at pulling the pinion nut, some might argue 2
u joints are stupid...
Enjoy the new toy

CrewCabFanatic

Reaction score
Thank you! It all sounds fairly straightforward then. I'll probably pull the pinion yoke then...I figure if the oem went with the larger joints there's probably a good reason.

And I absolutely love this truck! I've only owned it for about a week and I already hope to be buried with it. They just aren't making trucks like this anymore. Just try this type of work on a new truck!:mad: :***: Love the idi! :cool

Clb

Another old truck
Supporting Member
Reaction score
no worries.
Now fill in the trucks specs in yer sig line ...