New Here -- Looking to join the club (With a 6.9 IDI)

ballwad

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm new. I have lots of questions and little to offer (just being honest) as I have never owned a diesel. I'm hoping to purchase one in the next couple of days and found a lot of helpful info here about the truck I'm considering. Thought it would be a good place to hang in the event I pulled the trigger.

Here's what I'm looking at:
You must be registered for see images attach

'83 F350 6.9 IDI
105,000 original miles
one owner
sweet flatbed with winch crane
new fuel tank/filler necks/lines to rear of truck
restored cab/interior
$2500

Any thoughts or advice before purchasing? I'm new to these, so I don't know exactly what to look for or what makes a "good one." I think it could be a good work truck, but it will be my DD as well. My commute is like 2 miles every day, but I do a lot of concrete work in the summertime.

Thanks!

ballwad

Reaction score
Ya, i drove it once and it seemed to drive nice and shift properly, etc. It has sat a decent amount the past couple of years so i imagine there will be some things that need addressed. The lack of use is my concern, everything else seems pretty solid. It started and idled well, smoked for a bit but cleared up during test drive. Taking an old Ford mechanic with me tomorrow...and cash

ballwad

Reaction score
Towcat, the guy who owned it was a Penske employee for years(retired from there i believe. He's like 83 and having his friend move it for him), and when he and his brother painted the cab he put the penske stripes on for some reason. It was never a fleet vehicle. It hasn't been used much in the past ten years, but I've been told the oil changes have been kept up on and things of that nature. Judging by the condition of the rest of the truck, im inclined to believe him.