low fuel pressure

90f250

Full Access Member
Reaction score
im sure its been gone over and gone over but id like some input on a few things... first off, its a 90 7.3 idi non turbo engine...with a turbo set up from a 93-94 idi ( I assume) .. I just sold my bronco and bought this truck so everything that has "been done" to this truck is the previous owner or before...I have some knowledge of the idi from a previous truck that had a 6.9 so im not completely dumb on the situation... ok here it is, im getting low fuel pressure and what I believe is because of getting air in the fuel lines.. the previous owner installed a small fuel pressure gauge on the filter housing, and when I bought the truck it read between 3-4 lbs pressure.. I drove the truck 2 1/2 hours home down the interstate runnin 70-75 the entire time with no problems, I shut the truck off when I got home and about an hour later I went to start it and it cranked and cranked for awhile. it started and ran for about 30 seconds and died. the fuel pressure gauge said 0..nothin..so I went to town and bought a new lift pump, installed it, had to jump start the thing but it ran and drove for about 45 minutes till I shut it off again meanwhile the gauge remained at 0 the entire time, it left me stranded at work the next day so I had it pulled home and I went to the part store again, bought an electric fuel pump..the green electric over the counter holley I believe, installed it and fuel pressure jumped to 7...that was fine with me, drove the truck again and made sure to get on it a bit...got home and looked at the gauge...2..still running and staying on 2..wth is what im thinking...all my caps and return lines looked dry but just in case I wiggled them..got diesel out of everyone of them...ordered the kit, installed it, and back to 7 psi running ...ok I said, drove around the block and got on it again, looked at gauge...back to 2 psi.. and so everyone knows the pressure drops to 0 psi in less than 1 minute from shu