Is it possible to get 24 volts?

yARIC008

Drives really slow
Reaction score
I'm no electrical engineer, but I'm wondering is there any not so extremely difficult way to get a 24 volt system in the van from the existing 12 volt system? This would make rigging up LEDs alot easier and cheaper.

wgargan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Why cant you get 12 volt leds? Or are they just more expensive?

I am going to say that yes yiu can get 24 volts. BUT, all your lighrts will burn up quickly, and your radio will go to crap your windows will probably roll up really fast. Your starter will be dynamite!

Try it out so I we can see what will really happen!:eek: I am curious

argve

Resident Fruitcake
Reaction score
What you end up doing is putting the batteries in series then peeling off 12 volts for everything else. They do it in boats all the time. You will need to replace the alt and regulator then rewire everything concerning the batteries.

It can be done but it will take a while. I would just stick with 12v LED's or use a voltage doubler circuit for them.

yARIC008

Drives really slow
Reaction score
Okay, i guess i didn't say what i meant correctly. I want to keep the 12 volt system in the van obviously, because that would just be way too much work to change the main system, but then i want to have an additional 24 volt system to power 24 volt things. So basically I guess i would need a doubler circuit but where does one get that and how exactly does that work?

I want to power 5 of my big LEDs and want to do it with one controler, if i use 12 volts i will need another controller. If i use 24 volts, i only need one.

EDIT: I just found some 12 to 24 volt DC converters, i guess i would need something like that.

Last edited:

93turbo_animal

Reaction score
would it be possible to wire up both batteries to like an auxillary fuse box to get 24 volts but put some diodes in the lines so the batteries don't know the other one is connected

Freight_Train