Dorman 904-226 oil cooler tube

tbrumm

Full Access Member
Reaction score
After "de-rusting" and cleaning up both my original oil cooler tube, and the spare tube I purchased, I am less than enthusiastic about installing either one. The spare tube may still be okay, but the original tube seems really "thin" after the rust on the outside has been removed. Of course, the OEM cooler tubes are running around $400-$500 :eek: Has anyone had any experience with the Dorman replacement tubes? The reviews I have read online seem to be pretty good, but I am still reluctant to use something made in china for such a critical part. Thanks for any input!
http://www.dormanproducts.com/itemdetail.aspx?ProductID=73589&SEName=904-226

DaytonaBill

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
$210/@360!!! What a wild price swing!

While I know Dorman does have a warranty, I have no experience with this product...

That said, I have cleaned up the best of two tubes that I had (one was from a van) and pushed a straight rod through each tube and assembled the end caps with new seals and lots of Vaseline...

When I assembled it, the thought came to me... "How do I test for leaks?" I found this article and decided it was too much work (stupid, I know)...

Basically, you fill the water jacket with water (make sure the flanges are facing up, put thick (1/2") Plexiglas squares on the mating surfaces with a set of new gaskets, bolt it down, drill an air fitting over the water intake port of the cap flange (mark it down first, drill, then bolt it on the cap flange), pressurize and check for leaks...

Don't drill over the oil port because then you would have to put an oil filter on it to seal it... It's easier to just pressurize the water jacket of the tube to see if the new seals are good... after all, it does require a little bit of "oomph" to get the caps back on... Some people have nicked the new o rings and had oil mixing with the water... Messy!