White Smoke After IP Swap

bblaweless

Diesel Kid
Reaction score
Hey there everyone, I am new to the world of diesel and recently bought a 92 f20 with a 7.3 idi na.

3 days into my ownership the injector pump began to leak, so i sourced out another pump from a 93 turbo 7.3
from what i had read, this pump would be just fine for my truck as long as i turned down the fuel setting before installation, which i did right away.

Ever since i installed the new pump, ive got white smoke billowing out at cold starts, and some when idling as well just not as bad.
it doesnt smell like coolant, it smells like raw fuel.

Now what i didnt know was that the guy i got the pump from pre-emptively turned down the fuel setting on the pump for me, then i went ahead and turned it down even more. After i found that out, i turned up the pump just a little bit because i dont have a pyrometer installed yet...waiting for one in the mail.

My question is, could the white smoke be due to under-fuelling from a low fuel setting on the pump? or is something else going on here.

i did not remove the gear housing when replacing the pump, so i cant imagine the timing is off....
any feedback would be much appreciated:)

Cheers
B

Waystro

No Class
Reaction score
Yep you turned down to much. Who told you a 7.3 pump needed to be turned down for a 6.9 ?

bblaweless

Diesel Kid
Reaction score
my engine is a 7.3 non turbo, but the pump i installed on it is off of a turbo engine from 1993. From what i had read, the factory setting on the turbo pumps were higher than the NA pumps so thats why i went ahead and turned it down. Did not want to push my egts to high. So you believe that if i turn the pump up the smoke will disappear and my power will come back?
B

riotwarrior

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score