Which additive for the 7.3 IDI?

MandolinMan

Reaction score
Hello all,

I was wondering which particular brand additive was best for the 7.3 IDI? I'm new to diesels, so I wasn't sure if certain additives were formulated for newer diesels or if mattered? My local auto parts store carries Power Service and SeaFoam. Either one any good?

Just changed out my glow plugs and its firing up fine now without ether. But it sometimes takes 5-6 seconds. Thought an additive might help. Thanks.

Reaction score
Additives are one of those things where you can ask 5 different people and get 5 different answers. Power Service (Diesel Kleen) is a popular one mainly because you can find it just about everywhere. Howe's is another popular one for the same reason. Some swear by using Automatic Transmission Fluid (ATF) or 2-stroke oil because they (allegedly) do the same job for much cheaper. Here's a study that a lot of people like to use as a reference: http://www.dieselplace.com/forum/76.../177728-lubricity-additive-study-results.html

I guess I'm not understanding what you mean when you say it's 'firing up fine now' but then say it 'takes 5-6 seconds'. Do you mean it takes 5-6 seconds of cranking? Is it only like this when it's cold, or all the time, or.......? Regardless, I'm not sure an additive is going to do much for a starting problem. If you're having to crank that long every time but it runs fine once you get started, my guess is air intrusion of some kind.

Mike

mblaney

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Do a search here for additives; there are many posts and links to an extensive study done on common additives. Your question about additives should be specific about what you are trying to fix (water, lubricity, gelling); that quickly narrows down your choices.
If you are looking for general recommendations, I recommend biodiesel for lubricity if you can get it. I run 2 - 5%.

riotwarrior

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Purely a subjective topic...