Update on Hank - And it's not a good one. :-/

nitroguy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

Maybe you remember me. I'm the guy that just moved to Montana and before I left bought a really clean (looking) '93 IDIT that had brand new head gaskets on him. Brought it over the pass, and started smoking like a banshee. Took it in to the shop, then another, then another, then just had it sit in my yard while trying to figure out what the heck I could do with it. Took it back to the mechanic I liked best, and was figuring I'd just plan on spending some coin to have him bring it back to a good baseline working condition, then I could tinker on it from there fixing the little things.

Well, the mechanic called today, and it's bad news. A compression check on the rear two cylinders led to coolant shooting up through the Glow Plug holes. I'm no rocket scientist, but that's not good. Head gaskets were replaced right before I bought it from a reputable shop, so that leaves what: cracked heads or cavitation?

My two options, as I see it are this: New engine or New truck.

I'm leaning toward a new engine, because all the running gear on the truck is in top-notch condition. I fear that if I buy any other truck - even a (gasp!) little gas powered one, I'm just inheriting someone else's problems. But the idea of dropping $6k PLUS labor into a truck I paid just $4500 for, seems like a REALLY tough pill to swallow.

So, here's where I need your wisdom: what's a guy to do?! I'm fairly mechanically inclined, and work is easing up a bit, so theoretically a buddy and me could work for a weekend or two to replace an engine (or something) but time is a very precious commodity, exceeded only by money. Craigslist around here isn't really booming, and I'm new to the area so I'm knocking on all the doors I know to get references for junk yards or old farmers with trucks laying around.

Any suggestions?