Summit Racing/UPS

Brian VT

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I ordered a new starter @ 10pm last night from Summit Racing in Ohio.
Tracking says label created at 12:00am last night. Package picked up by UPS at 1:30am and left OH at 4:30am.
Arrived in Buffalo, NY at 8:30am and left at 8:40am. I'll have it here in Maine tomorrow.
How they do that? I guess both companies must be working 3 shifts?

Nero

HD Diesel nut
Reaction score
From someone who used to work as a subcontractor of ups, yes they do. The shipping network is actually pretty interesting how smoothly it runs.

Jesus Freak

Full Access Member
Reaction score
As a FedEx ground driver, I've delivered stuff and the customer blankly stare at me and say, "I ordered this at 8pm last night"..... To which I respond, "I drove REALLY fast to get here"......... courtesy laugh...... and I'm on my way. But yeah, logistics is pretty amazing.......... sometimes.......

Booyah45828

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I can get stuff from summit and jegs overnight typically. I had a buddy in college who's mom was a packer for jegs near columbus. IIRC he said they had 2 10 hour shifts she could choose from, not sure on the exact hours, but that leaves little time for someone not pulling/packing stuff during a day. Most major shippers have their own trailer that goes direct to the sorting hub from the warehouse, skipping any kind of center that you or I would have to go through.

Rdnck84_03

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Most things I order are delivered fairly fast to my area, now to the correct location always seems to be the problem.

We have 2 different houses on our property with separate driveways, you never know which one they leave it at. And there are usually 5-7 vehicles out front at any given time. It is always a scavenger hunt trying to figure out where it's at.

Then add to that about 1/4 of the time they get deliver to my boss's house about a mile away.

James

u2slow

bilge rat
Reaction score