play in differential

69oiler

I don't feel tardy
Reaction score
my differential has slop where the driveshaft enters it. if i grab the yoke and turn/shake it there is play both in and out of the pumpkin and the other way, like a loose bearing. is there a nut or something i can tighten or a bearing i can replace, or is the diff shot? :dunno

there is also a loud whirring/humming on deceleration, seems like its coming from the rear pumpkin. i'm guessing the looseness in the pumpkin is the cause.

typ4

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
your pinion nut is loose, tighten it and then get a shop to put in a new crush sleeve and necessary bearings. The noise is the pinion rubbing the carrier on decel.

Dont take this wrong but if you dont know what is causing this ,fixing may be beyond your scope. If you want to tackle it, ask away ,it really isnt that difficult with a book.

69oiler

I don't feel tardy
Reaction score
i'm no gear expert, i've heard that it's best for a pro to set gears up. i just want to fix it as cheaply as i can.

69oiler

I don't feel tardy
Reaction score
if i tighten the nut and then do nothing what will happen? the nut will keep coming loose? or will the rear axle fall out from under the truck

typ4

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
it wont need set up, the shims arent getting changed, tighten it and keep an eye on it, i check mine monthly, they loosen when you work them, also the splines wear in the yoke.

k_williams1982

'01 Excursion 4x4
Reaction score
I had the same thing happen on my '91 F150 with a 300cid "6". Dropped the driveline and tightened the nut. Checked it about once a month and it stayed tight for me. I sold the truck, so I don't know if it's ever been tightened again since.

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Wow Rob, you got a tag on that thing already?? LOL

69oiler

I don't feel tardy
Reaction score