Odd electrical deal

sandrow

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I had my mechanic, "josh" do a bit of work on my truck. Fantastic mechanic by the way great guy with the bill too. One of the things we did was replace the glow plugs in the truck. I have noted the usual tick in the voltmeter directly after starting the truck but now it's doing something more. When it is warmed up and I start it directly after I get in, the voltmeter drops even while the engine is running for about 25 seconds like it is still trying to cycle the glow plugs and it takes all the alternator can put out just to heat them up. Is this normal? None of my other 7.3's have done this. I'm thinkin maybe this is why I am blowing glow plugs? Or is it just an idiosyncrasy of the system. I would think that a sensor would read that the glow plug cycle is unnecessary and NOT draw power down to heat them up. Seems like common sense to me .... but what do I know I'm not a diesel mechanic... or a Ford engineer. Any and all advice would be welcome I hate to bug the guy with trivialities that are just foibles of the year truck and motor. By the way my genuine thanks to this site for hooking me up with an awesome mechanic with a real world grasp of what folks need as opposed to plain old greed. God Bless im

rhkcommander

Full Access Member
Reaction score
AFAIK the glowplug controller clicks on even after startup to aid in warmup... I ditched the auto system for manual control.

How old are your batteries? Just curious :angel:

oldmisterbill

Grumpy Old Man
Reaction score
Do you mean the plugs stay on for 25 seconds after the engine is running? They should click on & off briefly till the engine is a little warm. If they stay on longer that a couple seconds you have a problem.

OLDBULL8

Good Morning Ya'll.
Supporting Member
Reaction score