1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OBS With strange symptoms

Discussion in '7.3L Powerstroke Diesels' started by Bakersk896, Feb 20, 2021.

  1. Bakersk896

    Bakersk896 Registered User

    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Location:
    Norfolk, Va
    It also threw a code for P0603 (KAPWR interrupt) stating that power was interrupted to the computer. It says if the battery was disconnected recently, don’t worry. Very possible that it’s a fluke due to me undoing the battery previously. Truck is currently running and I’m waiting for it to shutoff. I’m not if it’ll do it when no load has been applied. We shall see. HPOP looks good though so does ICP sensor.
     
  2. Bakersk896

    Bakersk896 Registered User

    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Location:
    Norfolk, Va
    Decided to replace the fuel filter again due to the Autozone brand one literally flexing due to the shitty cap design. Also took some advice from some guys back home and replaced the CPS. The wife and I went on a two truck drive and we drove the hell out of the PSD. No issues at all. Think it may actually be fixed this time.
     
  3. 79jasper

    79jasper Chickenhawk

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    17,308
    Likes Received:
    1,867
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Location:
    Collinsville, Oklahoma
    Computer doesn't read ect.

    Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk
     
  4. Bakersk896

    Bakersk896 Registered User

    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Location:
    Norfolk, Va
    Well it’s not fixed. Truck died pulling into the parking lot on the base I’m stationed at. I’m convinced it’s a fuel issue. Doesn’t make sense unless I’ve got a leak that can’t be found but I’m ordering a fuel pump and filter kit for the frame rail. What’s the best in everyone’s opinion? And where the best place to get tank pickups from?
     
  5. greenskeeper

    greenskeeper Full Access Member

    Posts:
    793
    Likes Received:
    101
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    hatfield pa
    Do you get anything besides just the CEL when the truck dies....such as other indicators similar to when the ignition is switched to on (WTS, etc) ? Could very well still be the chip acting up.

    If it still occurs with the chip removed....

    Stalling with a CEL indicates something that the PCM can monitor. It doesn't monitor fuel pressure. If you think it is fuel pressure try checking the screen on the side of the fuel bowl for debris. Has the fuel regulator ever been rebuilt?

    When the truck stalls again, immediately remove the inspection port on the HPO reservoir and see if the oil is no less than 1" from the top. If it is your LPOP could be failing and not able to supply the HPOP with oil causing the stall...which would act just like running out of fuel.

    Other possibilities....weak injector o-rings that begin to lose pressure as the engine warms up
    ....faulty CPS
    ....faulty IPR

    Ideally you should get a scanner that can monitor and log what is going on when it dies so you don't keep throwing parts at it. I use autoenginuity and it paid for itself many times over when dealing with issues.
     
  6. Bakersk896

    Bakersk896 Registered User

    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Location:
    Norfolk, Va
    I appreciate the info @greenskeeper . I can’t get the truck to die when the scanner is hooked up. It’s the weekend now so I can spend some more time driving with the scanner logging everything.
     
  7. Bakersk896

    Bakersk896 Registered User

    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Location:
    Norfolk, Va
    So looks like my chip is the issue. Took a lot of driving and testing to prove it. Not sure if it’s the connection at the computer or if it’s the chip it’s self. Really want the chip but not excited to buy another.
     
  8. greenskeeper

    greenskeeper Full Access Member

    Posts:
    793
    Likes Received:
    101
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    hatfield pa
    Glad you found the issue.

    I'm not 100% sure but the scanner might override the chip when hooked up?

    What brand/style chip is it?

    If you're going to dive back into another chip, I like the hydra as you can download tuning and load the chip if you need adjustments from the vendor. I use totaldieselperformance on my 99 and use his economy chip 90% of the time,
     
  9. Bakersk896

    Bakersk896 Registered User

    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Location:
    Norfolk, Va
    @greenskeeper

    I’ve been running a TS 6 position with a swamps tuning I bought from the diesel shop here in Norfolk. I need to pull my computer and see if I need to repair the contact pads on the computer board.
     
  10. greenskeeper

    greenskeeper Full Access Member

    Posts:
    793
    Likes Received:
    101
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    hatfield pa
    How long have you been running the chip before the problems arose ?
     
  11. Bakersk896

    Bakersk896 Registered User

    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Location:
    Norfolk, Va
    @greenskeeper

    it did it one time about 7 months ago the day after I installed it. Hasn’t done it since. I’ve driven about 5k miles in that time.
     

Share This Page