new starter

69oiler

I don't feel tardy
Reaction score
got my rebuilt starter back and installed it tonight. truck cranks good now.;Sweet i also picked up some exhaust parts and will be installing them as soon as i find a straight-thru muffler that will fit. i'm going back to the stock system that worked and sounded so good years ago. running straight y-pipe has gotten old.:puke:

still have to investigate what i'm going to do about glow plugs. i want to go with 12v plugs this time.

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Good deal...Rob I have a flowmasters in mine at least that's what I was told and 3" ID from the cab back. Will be 3" all the way when I get the turbo put in. I can get you a pic of the **** and a sound clip if you want. I really want you to be the guinea pig for the AC Delco 12G plugs in our trucks. I don't see how you could hurt them with your manual system and only 12V of juice. They should be a bit more than ZD-1A plugs but less than the Lucas Constant Duty plugs. I would be using them if I still had the push button and 6.9 harness. Or you could convert to the solid state system.

69oiler

I don't feel tardy
Reaction score
i went with stock 2 1/2" pipe because it's cheap, i got all the pipe for 50 some bucks. cheap is the name of the game at this point. my NA wont know the difference. i have a 3" system on there now that is rusted out. the difference in performance when i put it on was more psychological than anything. plus i dont tow much or work this truck very hard anymore. project play toy :D

69oiler

I don't feel tardy
Reaction score
i'll probably get flamed but i'll probably go with a glasspack. summit has one for 25 bucks.

i think i will try the Delco plugs. at least i'll see if in fact they fit and match up and all. seems like that should cure my GP woes.

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score