new guy with turbo question

Reaction score
Hi guys I'm relatively new to the diesel world. In April I bought a new to me 1990 f250 4x4 with the ats 088 turbo in it. Last month to prepare it for the winter I payed a mechanic to change the glow plugs and glow plug relay. at this time his apprentice left a hose clamp in the bottom of the intake. It messed up the compressor wheel. So after doing s.ome research I decided to have the compressor housing machined so that a garrett gtx compressor wheel would work. I was wondering if anyone has done anything like this. And if not I would be happy to post any noticeable improvements by doing such a modd.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
Typ4 whos name is Russ will be the person to answer that question. He does a fine job of rebuilding and upgradeing most any turbo.

justinray

Contributor
Reaction score
As I stated earlier.. And shortly he will be here to pay this some attention. Sorry I cannot help.

Devon Harley

Full Access Member
Reaction score
If it works out let me kno I will be changing turbos but I would rebuild an upgrade the 088 just because I like it an like how simple it is an would be a great spare works best for towing but a nice kit.

Reaction score
Okay so I have evrything together and working. I was driving it up to Tue mtns today and seeing about 5psi of boost. I really thought I should see more. Also I was regularly hiring 1200 degrees showing on on ky autometer pryometer. I think that something isnt quite right. The mechanic that put the turbo back together said that he had the turbo balanced. It's got a real nice whistle. It still has the stock 3 inch exhaust. Should I change that out for a 4 inch. Would it help the egts and the boost? Haven't touched the ip because its still got someblack smoke while hiring the go pedal what do the experts think

kc0stp

30 Hour Famine
Reaction score