Looking at Synthetics....

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey folks. Justin's fuel economy thread has got me to thinking about if synthetics are a good idea for my motor. I recall some member here used Rotella's synthetic blend with good results unless it was the 5w/40 synthetic. Would I be less likely to have leaks and such during the adjustment phase on my old 6.9. I'm also interested in using some sort of syn. oils in my T19 and in my 10.25. Anyone have thoughts or experience on the synthetic blend? Good idea or just stay with dino or go all the way syn.?

RLDSL

Diesel fuel abuser
Reaction score
I've been using and selling synthetics for over 25 years. the reason you can get leaks is that they do such a great job of cleaning, eventually, synthetics will condition the seals to where the leaks will subside, but it takes an awful long ...expensive time.
Anymore, before switching a high mileage engine over, I run a treatment or two of Auto RX first. it takes care of the seals before putting the synthetic in and gets the rings good and clean to make sure that oil consumption will be at a minimum ;Sweet

RLDSL

Diesel fuel abuser
Reaction score
As far as synthetic blend, if oil consumption is an issue, then cost is an issue, and a blend might be a good option. you get partial benifits of reduced friction and a few other things, but less cost. if you don't have an oil eater, then a straight synthetic is the best choice, but for an engine that inhales oil, I can't reccomend a straight synthetic with a clean concience .

FordGuy100

Reaction score
That was my plan. I was thinking about just buying a case of Delo 400, and then running a treatment of Auto Rx through it. I'm currently taking in about a quart every 500 miles...

tractorman86

Reaction score
Boy aint that the truth :bail
I may not live rich , but I'll die without a care :Thumbs Up