Lift pump

Max Power

Reaction score
I have 2 friends that have both 99 cummins. Both have had Edge EZ boxes for quite some time. Today both of them called me to tell me they were having problems. What a coincidence. Both run find untill they get up to highway speed then they buck and surge (their description). One of them is 3000 miles from home so he took it to the dealer to get them to look at it. He left the EZ box on :mad: so the dealer removed it and all was fine. So he is on the road again. Apparantly they never looked any further. So does this sound like the symptoms of a bad lift pump? If so, can anyone recommend guages and a procedure for installing pressure guages? I am a cummins newbie and now I have to learn.

NAIL BENDER

Full Access Member
Reaction score
When my lift pump went out for the 2nd time in 75,000 mi, I wouldn't have known if I didn't have my mechanical fuel pressure gauge. I didn't get any bucking or surging. I also have an EZ and have never had a problem.

The fuel pressure gauge taps off the pressure test port on top of the fuel canister, then into the isolator (on a mechanical gauge) and then its fish and cuss your way up the pillar with the thick braided line. Easy operation. I have Autometer gauges and like them so far.

BRONCO

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Quick question,

Have any of you Cummins guys had any experience or exposure to the lift pump/filter combo units? FASS or the Preporator.

Last edited:

Fishin2Deep4U

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Max,

My truck had the same problem the first time my lift pump went out. Luckily, I had gauges installed and it was quickly caught.

There could be a problem with the EZ (not likely) or the connections. Also, check the lift pump connections.

Most importantly, check fuel pressure! I dunno about the '99s, but on my '02 I have a couple of schrader ports. One is on the VP44. Call Rip Rook and buy a gauge, or borrow one, whatever, and check that fuel pressure!

Dave

russs